Annual Review

REVIEW OF ACTIVITIES 2013 - 2014

In last year’s review, we reported that due in part to the ill health of Pat Preece, one of our founder members and a key Director of ZAP, we wanted to begin a gradual withdrawal of ZAP’s work in Jambiani. Pat and Janie had always reckoned on a 10 year stint for their work with the charity, and 2014 would see that period come to an end. Pat is no longer able to travel to Zanzibar, and Janie felt that she wanted more time to be at home and enjoy herself in retirement. All the Directors were entirely in agreement with this plan, and it was decided to aim for December 2014 as the final cut-off date for the majority of our projects. This would give us plenty of time to explain to Mr Pandu, and to the Village Committee and to make sure that everyone in the village was aware of the situation.

Many ZAP projects were fast becoming self-sustaining, or could be taken over by other NGO’s and supporters. Below we set out the plans for each individual ZAP Project.

JAMBIANI CLINIC / MARK BLOMFIELD DENTAL CLINIC

The clinic is undergoing a period of change. The Ministry of Health, in their wisdom, decided to ‘promote’ Dr Hamza to a position at the University, and to install a new team of doctors to take over. To say that this plan has been controversial locally is an understatement. Dr Hamza did not want to leave, the villagers certainly did not want him to and there has been rumblings of discontent ever since. Hamza has now set himself up in a small way in a rival clinic at his house. The Powers that Be refused to let him take his Vespa with him and despite strenuous efforts by ZAP to persuade them that it did in fact belong to us, and not the village, we could not prevail.

We decided, therefore, to buy Dr Hamza a new Vespa as a parting gift from ZAP to thank him for working so closely with us, and to such great effect over the years. The new bike will enable him to visit his patients as before and will be purchased and presented early in 2015.

We have made it clear that we cannot continue our support of the main Village Clinic, and this will cease at the end of December 2014. Any spare funds left in the kitty when ZAP closes will be allocated to Makunduchi Hospital which is run most efficiently by another UK charity, Health Improvement Project Zanziba .

NURSERY SCHOOLS

We have supported all four of the village nursery schools for many years, with porridge for the children and rice to supplement the teachers meagre wages as well as frequent donations of equipment. Other organisations including an Italian charity are now supporting three of the schools, so we started to focus all our efforts on the remaining school, Millat Ibrahim. ZAP had paid rent for a temporary house for two years since the old building was demolished to make way for a new Koran school, and thanks to the generous legacy from Julia Upton we were able to secure premises for a new school to replace this. At the end of this financial year the new school was almost ready for occupation, and we look forward to great celebrations when this finally happens. A full report on the development of this new site can be found on our website.

Support for two of the other schools will cease at the end of December 2014, though we will continue to supplement Sirajati Munira as well as giving full support to Millat Ibrahim until October 2015. Negotiations are under way for continuity of funding for a further five years, by a London businessman and generous ZAP supporter, who has recently purchased a house in Jambiani.

SEWING LADIES

This project has continued to run with little input from ZAP, and all of the teachers and pupils are kept busy with orders for school uniforms as well as ethnic clothing to sell to tourists. To date over 200 ladies have been trained in sewing and tailoring skills. As the year came to a close we received the excellent news that the whole scheme is moving to new premises, courtesy of an Italian charity, and we wish them every success for many more years of teaching and trading.

JAMBIANI FUNDI WORKSHOP .

Our support for the nine young men that we have trained is coming to an end, and we are delighted to report that they are now entirely self-sufficient. This has been an incredibly rewarding project, and the results have far exceeded our expectations.

PRIMARY SCHOOL SUPPORT

Janet was able to meet the ZAP-sponsored teachers during her field trip in November 2013, and we continued to monitor their effectiveness throughout the year. As well as teaching Maths and English to students, they are also working with the existing staff to try and improve standards of teaching in general . This sponsorship was another scheme prompted by the Julia Upton legacy, and is a further example of our drive to improve education in the village. We now plan to extend this sponsorship until the end of December 2015, and will also be pressing the Ministry of Education to take them on a permanent basis.

HIGHER EDUCATION / ZAP BOARDING HOUSE

Our final intake of students for Forms V and VI moved into the boarding house this year, and we have committed our support for them until they finish their school studies in July 2015. University students continue to do incredibly well, with two more graduating this year. The last few students in higher education will be supported until they finish their degrees or training courses. All of the students keep in touch regularly, and we are always pleased to hear how their careers are progressing.

FIELD TRIPS

There was one field trip during this year by Janet and her husband. They were able to visit all of our projects and send back up-to-date reports, as well as taking out much-needed supplies.

THE FUTURE

At the end of this financial year we are confident that we can safely implement our plans to withdraw support for the clinic, the sewing ladies and the fundi workshop. We will honour our commitments to the students in the boarding house and at university or college, and continue support for the primary school and nursery schools for another year.

We are indebted to the large number of benefactors who have donated very generous sums during the year, including charitable trusts, sponsored runners, regular givers and individual donors. This income has enabled us to continue our support for Jambiani for over eleven years, and we are confident that we can complete our commitments before ZAP finally closes down.

ZAP Directors

Return to Projects page

ZAP Annual Review 2012-13

ZAP's work this year has continued to provide support in our target areas of health and education. As ever, a huge vote of thanks goes to all our supporters, especially through regular giving. Apart from many individual donations, we also received sponsorship money from various marathon runs and cycle rides during the year. There were significant donations in memory of two of our supporters, one of whom also left an amazing legacy to ZAP, with the specific request that we use it for educational purposes, of which more later.

We can report that some projects are achieving self-sufficiency at last. This is most encouraging as a difficult decision was taken during the year to commence a "managed retreat" over the next two years. We have begun reviewing which projects can now stand alone and which will need to be brought under the umbrella of other organisations working in the area.

THE TEAM

A former employee at the old ZAP Library/Internet Cafe, Nabawia Hassan was taken on in March as assistant to our Zanzibari manager Mr Pandu. She has particular responsibility for the Sewing ladies, the Nursery Schools and the welfare of our Boarding House students, and her advice has already proved invaluable.

FIELD TRIPS

There was one field trip during the year, when Janet accompanied the fourth visit by a group of girls and teachers from Headington School. Large amount of supplies were taken out and distributed among the various projects, and the newsletter issued shortly after this trip contained most entertaining reports and photographs to keep our supporters informed.

CLINIC AND DENTAL CLINIC

Support continues for the village clinic, with medical supplies and fuel for both the generator and Dr Hamza's motorbike. We were able to respond to an urgent request for help in May when a rare outbreak of malaria occurred. During the year the Ministry of Health took over all expenses for the provision of a dentist (also increasing opening to 3 days a week). This is a wonderful result and a classic case of ZAP's initiative being adopted by an official government department.

NURSERY SCHOOLS

Porridge and rice subsidies continue for the two poorest nursery schools in the village. One school has lost its premises due to redevelopment, so ZAP is helping towards the rental of a temporary building. Consideration was given to providing funds towards cost of new building but it was decided that this was too big a project for us to take on.

SEWING LADIES

The Jambiani Sewing Ladies Co-operative continues to provide training for a steady stream of village ladies. We are confident that this will become self-sufficient in the next year as ZAP withdraws its support.

FUNDI WORKSHOP

Over the years ZAP has seen a total of nine young men from the village complete their vocational training, and then learn the hard way how to run a business. There were many pitfalls but our constant encouragement and help is finally producing the results that we envisaged all those years ago - to bring employment and the chance of a better life. The Fundis (tradesmen) are all now working, even the mechanics. The carpenters in particular have become very successful, well established in their small workshop. They now receive many commissions from both private sources and businesses, and have even taken on an assistant to cope with the work.

HIGHER EDUCATION

There was a further intake into Form V this year and we continue to support several students through university. The ZAP boarding house provides a vital base in town for many village students, and we have committed our support to enable all students currently in higher education to complete their courses. It is worth remembering that in the days prior to ZAP's educational sponsorship, it was very rare indeed for children to attain the level of Form V and VI in Stone Town, and almost unheard of for village kids to get to University. We are proud of our record and of our stalwart supporters for making it possible.

EDUCATIONAL AID

Having re-established contact with the headteacher at Jambiani Primary School, ZAP responded to his request for help with the construction of a new computer studies room in preparation for the new curriculum. We also arranged the construction and donation of school desks (the first commission for our own newly-qualified carpenters).

In addition to donations in memory of Julia Upton, we were amazed and humbled to hear that she left a wonderful legacy in her will, preferably to be used for educational aid. A detailed study was undertaken to decide the best way to use this, and it was finally decided that ZAP would pay salaries for two new teachers in Primary School (English and Maths). Being acutely aware of the poor standards of teaching in Zanzibar, it was felt that this project would have more lasting impact on the village than dedicating a building in her memory.

Following negotiations with Ministry of Education, the recruitment process was completed and two well-qualified and experienced teachers in place from September 2013, for one year initially. Both men will teach other staff as well as Standard Four pupils, with the specific aim to improve standards of English and Maths before children go up into Secondary School where all lessons will be in English from January 2014. It is our fervent hope that these two teachers can make a real difference, and we will monitor results very closely. ZAP is very hopeful that this initiative will also be taken on by relevant government authorities, to ensure that this really is a lasting legacy.

THE FUTURE

It has been heartening to report on success stories this year, and we feel confident that our projects will continue to mature as planned over the coming year. Some will need careful management to ensure they receive support from alternative sources where needed, and these long-term plans will form the focus of our activities while ensuring that we fulfil all our commitments to this desperately poor part of Africa.

ZAP DIRECTORS, March 2014

Return to Projects page

ZAP Annual Review 2011-12

This year has seen several key events affect our activities in Zanzibar, and some big decisions had to be taken concerning both the future of ZAP and the way we support the people of the village.

At the start of the year the directors carried out a full review of our financial situation, in order to ensure that we were able to meet our commitments. Our reserves were reasonable, and regular giving along with anticipated grants and donations would ensure that we could give basic support to existing projects. However some fundraising would probably be needed to cover additional capital expenditure.

Not unexpectedly, the new Autoworks struggled through lack of good management skills, closing down for some months while a new business plan was being developed. We also had to withdraw our support for the Academy during the year, and to close the Internet Café, a move we had foreseen as more and more people now have their own access to the internet.

On the management side, we were delighted to announce the appointment of a new director in March 2012. Rosey Kingzett is a long-standing supporter of ZAP, and was keen to take a more active role in the running of the charity. In addition, and bearing in mind various health problems of the directors and other commitments, our administration assistant Janet Lane was given more responsibility for liaison with Mr Pandu.

FIELD TRIPS

ZAP personnel undertook two visits during the year, with directors Janie, Andrew and Rosey going to Zanzibar in January 2012, and Janet with husband Graham co-ordinating the third Headington School visit in July 2012. The first group took out a huge amount of dental equipment, provided and paid for by supporter Mark Blomfield for the new clinic. Both parties visited all the ZAP projects, especially the Fundi Workshop which has needed a great deal of support again this year.

CLINIC

The village clinic continued to need financial support for basic medicines, and an outbreak of chickenpox resulted in an urgent call for extra children’s medicines, including such basic items as calamine lotion.

The dental clinic is now fully operational, and has been officially named The Mark Blomfield Dental Clinic in honour of his very generous support. The Headington School group also donated an autoclave (steriliser) when they visited in July. A dental technician from Makunduchi Hospital attends once a week with ZAP paying travel expenses for several months until the Ministry took over.

NURSERY SCHOOLS

Porridge continues to be provided at the four village Nursery Schools, along with a rice allowance for teachers at the two poorest schools in the north, which also received new swings for their playgrounds. Once again the Headington girls brought donations of equipment, and paid for badly-needed storage cupboards.

SEWING LADIES CO-OPERATIVE

Now in its 7th year, this scheme is now almost self-sufficient. Following suggestions from Headington last year, a second sewing room has been opened in Mr Pandu’s house, decorated and kitted out with new machines and work tables. This is used regularly for post-graduates to practice and begin to earn money from their new skills.

HIGHER EDUCATION

Despite the major upheaval of moving to a new boarding house in Spring 2012, the Form V and VI students continue to benefit from the ZAP bursaries which enable them to study in Stone Town. We are also providing extra English lessons at the house, as this is a crucial subject in the higher education system and standards are still very poor. ZAP continues to support two students at university, and was able to finance two more who have applied to begin their courses in autumn 2012.

Janet and Graham took out several laptops provided by UK supporters, and Headington School again donated equipment for both study and basic living, including new mattresses, more mosquito nets and even a clock.

Following the closure of the Academy, all the ZAP equipment was redistributed. Some went to other ZAP projects, some to Jambiani primary school and some to Unguja Ukuu, a secondary school nearby which is undergoing extensive development, and with whom we are hoping to develop further links.

JAMBIANI FUNDI WORKSHOP

We were pleased to hear that Mohammed Simai, the ZAP trained Aircon and Refrigeration Engineer, had been elected as leader of the ZAP fundis (tradesmen). While some of the young men are working full time, others like him have had to diversify to earn a living. He is able to co-ordinate reports back to ZAP and to direct work to other fundis where possible, especially through contacts made in his computer work.

GENERAL

The third Headington School girls visit was another great success, with the usual teaching lessons at the village Nursery Schools and mentoring sessions with their Jambiani counterparts. This year the girls visited the hospital in nearby Makunduchi, and saw the new Boarding House in Stone Town. They spent a lot of time with the students who benefit from the considerable sums that Headington raise for ZAP which goes towards the bursaries that we provide.

Donations from individuals and charitable organisations have continued to form a crucial part of our income, and thankfully we did not need to organise any major fundraising events. We must in particular mention the generous donations received in memory of Julia Upton. She and her friends had raised money for ZAP by climbing Mount Kilimanjaro in 2011, and we were sad to learn of her death, and extremely humbled to hear that ZAP would benefit. Donations are still arriving, and we plan to display a suitable memorial in Jambiani in the coming year.

We are eternally grateful to all our supporters for their continued help, whether financial or hands-on like Joe and Mary Braitch who take valuable supplies for us each time they go to Jambiani in addition to running their own solar projects.

THE FUTURE

ZAP has now been running for 8 years, and we are thrilled that some of our projects are well on the way to being self-funding. Others need ongoing support to ensure their sustainability, and our core areas of health and education will continue to be our focus for the foreseeable future.

ZAP Directors

Return to Projects page

 2010-2011: ZAP Annual Review

This has been another busy but rewarding year for ZAP. Some projects have required a great deal of input, but we have had more than our fair share of successes. We are particularly heartened by the progress made in our educational projects. Also this year we have been pleased to facilitate several new initiatives which, through the generosity of ZAP supporters, are making a real difference to the lives of villagers who are only too eager to improve their standard of living.

It is our policy to visit all our projects regularly, and ZAP personnel and supporters undertook various field trips during the year. Once again our focus has been on five core areas:

  • Jambiani Clinic

  • Nursery Schools

  • Jambiani Sewing Ladies Co-operative

  • Higher Education

  • Vocational Training through Jambiani Fundi Workshop

CLINIC

ZAP continues its regular support of Dr Hamza with transport and medicines, especially antibiotics for children. Now that Wadhifa is firmly established, we are pleased to report a new Lab assistant has started training, with her bursary funded by a German charity.

The Hemacue machine taken out in summer 2011, for testing for anaemia, has been most beneficial, and the Headington School group once again brought out supplies and baby clothes.

During the year work commenced on a new room for a visiting dentist to use, and ZAP will be providing equipment through our supporters. The dentist’s weekly visit will be funded by the government, made possible through ZAP’s special relationship with the Ministry of Health.

NURSERY SCHOOLS

New lockable cupboards were provided for the two poorer (Northern) nursery schools, courtesy of Headington School girls. The difference in standards between the two northern schools and the southern one is more noticeable than ever, and more work is needed to rectify this.

SEWING LADIES

This self-administered scheme (with only minimal ZAP help for teachers’ wages and electricity) is a real success story. As an extra facility, prompted by the Headington girls visit, ZAP has this year agreed to provide and equip a sewing room for graduates.

HIGHER EDUCATION

Changing our focus to higher education is paying dividends. The Jambiani Community Academy is thriving, and without the extra tuition provided it would be almost impossible for secondary students to attain the necessary grades to pass into Forms V and VI in Stone Town. Eight youngsters achieved this in this financial year, and they will receive ZAP bursaries for the next stage of their education.

We continue to pay rent for the ZAP Boarding House in Stone Town, which gives students a safe haven where they can study and help each other progress. The scheme enables more students to move up through Form V and VI each year, and this year’s Form VI have all gained University places which is amazing.

Unfortunately the government has recently brought in restrictions in their criteria for loans for university fees. The shortfall is beyond the scope of what ZAP is able to afford, so we have had to take the tough decision to support only those students who have achieved top grades (two this year) and we hope this will be sustainable in the future.

On a more positive note, three new scholarships have been arranged, funded through ZAP by generous supporters: an academic scholarship for a Form V girl; and two vocational bursaries, also for girls, for a Lab Technician and a Business/Accountancy degree student.

JAMBIANI FUNDI WORKSHOP (JFW)

ZAP has now financed technical training courses for 9 young men, with the two latest about to qualify as carpenters. We can testify to the skills of several of the fundis as they did a super repair job on the hot water at Blue Lagoon in July!

The mechanics completed their work experience in Stone Town, and more tools were taken out during the year to equip the Autoworks. This is now awaiting the appointment of a local manager to become a fully functioning repair workshop, thanks largely to support from the management at Pamoja, the new Autoworks linked to Karume College in Stone Town.

We are delighted that the Workshop is creating a source of local employment, and have great confidence that it will turn into another success story.

JAMBIANI NEWS - General

Power and water problems continue to beset the village. Frequent power cuts affect the Academy, though the ZAP generator can be used in emergencies, and Mr Pandu’s internet dongle helps him to maintain reasonable communication with us.

New supporters Joe and Mary Braitch visited Jambiani for the first time in February, taking out tools for the Autoworks. Visiting the clinic they noticed that a very large number of patients were being treated for respiratory disorders, especially children. One of the main causes is the widespread use of kerosene lamps in homes where electricity is either unaffordable or unreliable, and the Braitches were determined to help. Returning in July, they took out more tools, solar lights and a solar water pump. Sourcing a reliable supplier in Zanzibar, they invested their own money in the initial purchases then organised a system of Hire Purchase for the villagers. Many families have benefited so far, and it is hoped to expand the scheme more each year as finance permits. The water pump is working hard on a local “shamba” (farm), and there are plans to install further irrigation pipes and water tanks.

The second Headington School field trip took place in July 2011, providing a great opportunity for the English contingent to experience life in an undeveloped country, and giving both groups a chance to learn about each other’s cultures and traditions. The girls took out supplies for the clinic and the nursery schools, and made several excellent suggestions to improve facilities such as new storage cupboards at the nursery schools, and a sewing room for ladies who have graduated from the ZAP classes. While most of their sponsor money goes towards bursaries for higher education students, we have also allocated some funds to these two new initiatives, and to providing a dongle for the Boarding House students to use with their ZAP laptop.

FUNDRAISING

Despite not hosting a major ZAP event this year, our work in maintaining the website has brought us many new donors and supporters, including Joe and Mary Braitch whose input for the Autoworks and the Solar project has been amazing.

The Christmas Appeal was very successful. Our target is to achieve a total of £10,000 per year in Regular Giving, and we were delighted to reach almost £8,000 by Spring 2011. We also received a remarkable £2,000 in one-off donations as a result of the Appeal. In one of our newsletters we were able to demonstrate just how far each £1 goes in Zanzibar: for example, £100 trains a nurse for one year, £12 buys porridge for a child for a year, £75 buys a new sewing machine and £600 trains a plumber for 3 years.

Our supporters have been extremely active on our behalf. In April Sophie de Winton ran the London Marathon, raising over £5,000 with the help of husband Tom and his company Reeve Flooring. In July a team from Equinix climbed Kilimanjaro, donating part of their sponsorship money to ZAP and visiting Jambiani afterwards to meet Janie and visit some of our projects. Then in September, ZAP director Andrew and his daughter completed the London to Brighton ride, raising more much-needed funds for us. Finally in October, six-year-old Joseph Purcell and his parents climbed Mount Snowdon to help the people of Jambiani, prior to visiting Zanzibar at half term. They also took out toys and equipment for the nursery schools, and laptops and software for the Academy. We are eternally grateful to all our supporters, and to all our donors throughout the year.

We continue to keep administration costs to a minimum, and are proud that the partnership between ZAP and the local community of Jambiani is making a big difference.

Janie Preece, Director

April 2011

Return to Projects page

 2009-2010: New focus in Jambiani

The Board of Trustees has welcomed a new member, Mr Mark Coley. Mark is a retired financier, and takes a special interest in Administration, PR and budget forecasts. His experience is proving particularly useful in the setting up of the most recent ZAP project, the Jambiani Fundi Autoworks (see below). During the recent year, ZAP has continued to flourish, providing financial and practical aid to the remote rural community around Jambiani in Zanzibar, specifically in the areas of:

  • Health

  • Education

  • Employment

It has been an active year, both in Zanzibar and on the home front in the UK. A serious ‘power outage’ which lasted 3 months (December 10 2009 – March 9 2010) affected our village very seriously. Unlike neighbouring communities, which have access to manually operated wells, Jambiani depends entirely upon electricity to pump water to around 10,000 people from the two deep wells situated at some distance from the village (ZAP supporters will remember our successful campaign to purchase a new water pump in 2008, when the old one broke down). The facts are simple: no power = no water = disease.

As ever, we were kept closely in touch with the situation via our two African managers, and received heart-breaking text messages (no power=no internet), describing the terrible hardship endured by the Jambiani villagers. Re-opening local contaminated wells caused an outbreak of disease, including cholera and dysentery with a huge increase in workload for Dr Hamza; many people were hospitalised and several lives lost. As before, a temporary clinic staffed by outside medics had to be set up in the village – but there was a critical lack of bottled water for the patients, and even basic food for the doctors themselves. As the suffering of the community increased, we began to receive desperate pleas for ZAP’s help. As ever, Jambiani seemed to be below the radar of the authorities and no-one else was able or willing to respond to the emergency; hotels, private houses and businesses who could afford to run generators or to fill up their tanks from water lorries were relatively unaffected.

We suggested that a Steering Committee of senior villagers should be convened to lobby for government aid through their local M.P., and this did result in the sporadic loan of a generator to work the north villages pump (which inevitably broke down days later): however according to ZAWA (Zanzibar Water company) the pump in the south villages would need a new larger generator, which – at a cost of $12,000 - was quite beyond our means, and presumably theirs too.

ZAP (with help and encouragement from many supporters) embarked on an exhaustive campaign to raise media awareness; we applied to a number of large relief organisations, including DFID in the UK, Oxfam, Water Aid, Save the Children and the Tanzanian High Commission for emergency funds. When this was not forthcoming, we took the difficult decision to step in ourselves with relief aid to Jambiani. Mr Pandu sprang into action and organised a fleet of water Lorries to circulate through each area of the village in turn; he made sure that the clinic was well provided for, and everyone had a chance to fill containers with fresh water on a regular basis for the duration of the crisis. Altogether, ZAP released funds of $6,000 and we believe that by doing so we literally saved lives.

Unfortunately, our small ‘hands on’ charity has suffered financially as a result. $6,000 US dollars goes a long way in Zanzibar, and represents a significant proportion of available funds – quite a body blow in the present financial climate. We have had to make cut-backs as a result, and have refined our targets further. We are no longer able to respond positively to ad hoc requests for funds in areas which lie outside our main projects, where experience tells us that our work is most effective for the greatest number of people. These are:

  • Clinic

  • Nursery Schools

  • Sewing Ladies Co-operative

  • Higher Education

  • Fundi (tradesmen) training and new JFW (Jambiani Fundi Workshop)

CLINIC

The excellent reputation of Jambiani Clinic is being upheld, and we are justifiably proud that we help to sustain it by practical support for Dr Hamza. For us, the most exciting moment came in the summer when ZAP trained male nurse Wadhifa was finally posted to Jambiani. Fortuitously, the moment of his arrival in the clinic coincided with the visit in July of Pat, Janie, Andrew and Janet who witnessed the absolute delight of both men. Dr Hamza’s workload has been considerably eased, and Wadhifa is settled happily back in his home village. The other ZAP trained nurse, Mwatima, has gained in confidence and now presides with great authority over the ‘mother and baby’ immunisation clinic. (See website for photographs).

NURSERY SCHOOLS

The porridge provided by ZAP on three days a week has been augmented by another NGO, ‘African Impact’, who make up the rations on the other two days. ZAP also gives a monthly rice allowance to the teachers. The three nursery schools are lively, thriving places – always a pleasure to visit. Janie and Andrew managed to arrange a meeting with a senior government official from the Minister of Education in July at which they gathered that some strict standards are to be introduced into pre-school education in Zanzibar. Apparently, nursery schools will have to be officially registered, and teaching staff properly qualified. Potential teachers graduating from Form IV will not be permitted, as they are at present, to become primary school teachers automatically, but will have to attain proper qualifications at a teacher training college. We are somewhat cynical about this ambitious objective. We would, however, like to set up some English classes for the present nursery school teachers and are exploring the practicality of this. Many of them are also ‘seaweed farmers’, and all of them are burdened with a heavy domestic workload after school.

SEWING LADIES CO-OPERATIVE and SEWING CLASSES

This continues as a real success story. Well over 100 village ladies have now completed the 3 month training courses, and there is still a long queue for places. The ZAP trained teachers are headed by the inimitable Khadija – who has proved to be a canny business woman as well as a strong mentor to the group. Janie accompanied Khadija and two assistants on a material buying spree among the traditional dukas of Stone Town in the summer, because she wanted to encourage them to buy materials that would appeal to the western tourist market. Khadija was in charge of the purse strings, however, and took quite a bit of persuading; happily Janie’s more sober choices subsequently sold well to European tourists, though the majority of the garments will always be in the bright, zingy colours which look so fantastic in Africa.

This project has attained the status to which ZAP aspires; i.e. almost self-supporting. We do still pay the teachers a small wage for their lessons, and are responsible for the electricity they use, but in essence it runs itself, and even enables local women to earn a little money for themselves. Just as important in some ways, is the camaraderie and social opportunity which the sewing group provides. Jambiani women lead very hard lives, doing the back-breaking task of farming seaweed, besides looking after their families. To see them all sitting on the schoolroom floor, busily cutting out garments from patterns made of newspaper, chattering happily amongst themselves, with their babies and small children playing near them is a lovely sight. Long may these classes thrive – for it is the only small ‘recreation’ readily available to the majority of Jambiani women; besides giving them a skill, it increases their confidence and self-belief.

HIGHER EDUCATION: Jambiani Community Academy (JCA)

As a result of what seemed to be a catastrophe at the time – ZAP’s sudden dismissal from the school Computer Centre in January 2010 – our focus in education has undergone a sea change. The Headmaster announced, only a couple of months after we had moved our Internet and office services to the Secondary school (with his initial encouragement and blessing), that he had accepted a new offer from a Swiss Charity (whose name and contact details he consistently refused to divulge) to endow the school with free Internet access and 13 brand new computers – on condition that ZAP moved lock, stock and barrel to another premises. Since we had invested considerable funds and a great deal of energy and time in the initial set-up, and were providing a valuable service to the community, not only in the free IT lessons provided, but also in attracting tourists to the school, this came as a very unpleasant shock, and has naturally affected relations between ZAP and the skuli - at least in the short term.

Whilst we (and poor Mr Pandu) were still reeling from this blow, an even better opportunity presented itself. Mr Vuai, long time friend and excellent ZAP-funded IT teacher, offered us free long-term use of his premises in the centre of Jambiani, ideally situated on the main street opposite the Post Office. This had previously been a small internet café, and has now undergone a ZAP financed transformation to become the new Jambiani Community Academy and Internet centre. Mr Vuai moved our computers and office services, built shelves for our library, and installed a secure lockup cupboard for office equipment. Fortuitously, an extremely generous ZAP supporter donated 11 more laptops and other useful IT items; ZAP provided 15 desks and chairs, and our internet and office services are up and running once more.

We knew that, for many years, Mr Vuai and another teacher, Mr Suha had been providing critically important after school tutorials (entirely free) in some key subjects, including English, to the brighter and more ambitious secondary school pupils. These had taken place (attended on occasion by Janie) in a small, hot, badly lit room where up to 16 students studied on a dusty floor every evening until the small hours. Happily, these lessons are now taking place in our bright, cool school-room. A large whiteboard, the ZAP-donated projector and the internet are valuable teaching aids. Vuai has enlisted the services of a volunteer IT teacher to help him and there is now a busy timetable which includes English lessons for adults and small children. The village is delighted with the new facility, and of course internet income from tourists contributes to maintenance and running costs.

Vuai himself presides over the ZAP office and internet services, and is invaluable in his role as administrator, coping admirably with ZAP accounts and communicating with us in the UK at regular intervals on SKYPE.

N.B. At the time of going to press, we regret to say that the school Computer Centre lies empty and idle. The Swiss Charity’s promises have not been fulfilled; there is no internet, and no computer classes. It has been a sad and sorry story, and we are told that ZAP is very much missed.

ZAP Boarding House: Ambitious, intelligent and hard-working students have to transfer to Stone Town from Jambiani for Form V and Form VI, (equivalent to UK ‘A’ Level years). Early in 2010, we became aware that these youngsters were living in unacceptable conditions in a very dodgy area of town; Mr Vuai and Mr Pandu asked if it would be possible for ZAP to rent premises specifically for Jambiani boys and girls. Suitable rooms – Spartan, but serviceable - were found by Mr P; and for the reasonable rent of $1000 US dollars per year, plus some initial outlay for mattresses and mosquito nets, (funded by ZAP and by Headington School), it has become home to the 11 ZAP students who now live and work there.

It is always difficult to assess whether a new venture will be successful, but in this case we have concrete proof that it is – greatly improved exam results, and exceptionally high numbers of University scholarships among the Jambiani students. Through visiting the new ‘boarding house’ and meeting the young people on several occasions, particularly during the week which they spent in Jambiani in July hosting Headington School girls (see below), we have got to know them quite well. We feel very proud of them, and confident that ZAP’s support has made a significant difference to their chances of success in the future, inevitably bringing with it a better life style for their families.

Headington School Visit – July 2010: This was a great success – 11 girls and 4 teachers spent a week in Jambiani, being hosted and mentored by ZAP sponsored students from Forms V and VI in Stone Town. The girls had worked incredibly hard to raise £3000 for ZAP – which was largely spent on extra bursaries, textbooks, mattresses and mosquito nets for our students. The group also brought the laptops out with them, together with vast quantities of posters, toys and educational equipment for the new Academy. A full account of this visit can be found on our website at www.zanzibaraction.co.uk/news/95.html

ZAP Volunteer Teacher: We were fortunate to have Douglas Perrin, volunteer English teacher, who dedicated the first couple of months of his retirement to ZAP in Jambiani in September 2010. We were very grateful indeed for his input, and also for some useful feedback on his return. Autumn is the season for exams in Zanzibar, during which all schools seem to need to shut down entirely for long periods, which is extremely inconvenient and annoying and has made us resolve to advise future volunteers to go out earlier in the scholastic year. Despite this setback, Douglas made good headway with an adult English class in the Academy and with Forms V and VI in town.

JAMBIANI FUNDI WORKSHOP (JFW)

Considerable funding and much hard work has been channelled for the past 12 months into the set-up of this innovative ZAP project – a full account of which can be found on the ZAP website. It is one thing to train 7 raw young men at technical college, and quite another to instil them with an entirely unfamiliar business ethos. Again, Mr Vuai’s entrepreneurial skills have been pivotal; taking his cue from Marcus Collie’s valuable donkey work during 2009, he holds weekly meetings with the ZAP fundis (tradesmen) when he instructs them in business matters such as diary keeping, estimating, invoicing and accounting. Owing to generous sponsorship from a UK charitable trust, we have been able to provide basic tools and equipment for their trades, and to rent a couple of secure lock-ups in which they are kept. We bought two vespas – one for the RAC engineer (Refrigeration and Aircon), whose work involves travelling long distances, and one between the two motor mechanics. Fortuitously, Marcus Collie met the site manager of a new luxury hotel under construction just north of Jambiani, and arranged extended employment for our 2 electricians and 2 plumbers. This gave them exactly the practical experience they needed and they are now ready to branch out on their own, with Mr Vuai in overall charge of operations.

Meanwhile, 2 further trainee fundis - carpenters - have begun their training at a specialist college in Stone Town. The 2 motor mechanics are still at work experience at the Toyota garage but the new Jambiani Autoworks is under construction and we hope to open it in February 2011. Located bang opposite the Fundi Lock-ups, it is intended as a rural outpost for the Toyota garage in Stone Town and we hope it will be a hub for small industry in the village, attracting custom from a wide catchment area.

The JFW has been a long time in the planning but ZAP has taken great pains to try to ‘get it right’. The financial outlay was and still is considerable, but already we are seeing signs that it will fulfil our ambition to improve economic opportunities in this very poor and underdeveloped community. All our fundis will be taking on apprentices next year, and Mr Pandu reports on numbers of eager youngsters wanting to learn a trade. Two of the fundis have got married, and one, whose father died recently, has now undertaken to provide for his entire extended family, regularly banking a portion of his salary with Mr Vuai for their support. The co-operative seems to be holding up well, for a further 10% of each man’s salary is allotted to communal needs, such as when one of the plumbers broke his leg badly and had to be off work for several months.

FUND-RAISING

In the prevailing difficult financial climate, ZAP has had to work extra hard to attract funding. We have had several generous endowments from charitable trusts, and have increased our list of Regular Givers.

The major fund-raising event of 2009 was the Grand Quiz Night held in Norfolk in January. It was a sell-out and a huge success, netting over £8,000 in total. For details and photographs of the evening, type ‘Quiz’ into the Search engine of the ZAP website.

Once again, enterprising young people have accomplished feats of endurance on our behalf this year. We had a runner in the London Marathon, another in the Great North Run, and a long distance swimmer! Between them, they raised approx. £5,000 – an extremely significant sum for which ZAP is very grateful indeed.

As ever, ZAP Trustees give of their time entirely free and we continue to peg administrative outlay to the minimum. It is, however, very important to keep our website and PR literature fresh and up-to-date. The website underwent a major overhaul early in 2010 and continues to attract interest and attention, often resulting in most welcome donations. The ZAP leaflet was also re-designed and brought up to date, and several other minor administrative adjustments made to improve day to day fund-raising potential. We have given talks, using a projector to illustrate them, to several institutions – including schools and clubs, such as Rotary and Lions, with some success. Our support base has widened further, both in the UK and further afield, with significant support from Switzerland, Germany, Spain, Canada and America.

Janie Preece, Director

December 2010

Return to Projects page

 2008-2009: SIX YEARS ON – A little charity has made a lot of difference.

  • Health

  • Education

  • Employment

Six years ago, we set out to help a massively underprivileged community in Zanzibar. We targeted our help to these three areas which concern us all, whether here in the UK or far away in Jambiani, a remote fishing village (population approx 10,000) built on a narrow strip of sand and limestone on the shores of the Indian Ocean.


ZANZIBAR ACTION PROJECT is a Registered Charity in the UK No. 1108030